The short answer: on 6 October 2026, 19 of the 27 platforms we checked document an official MCP server, one more has one for a side product only, and seven have none we could find. Most are a year old or less. Few let an agent write, and none we found documents a tool that refuses an asset for a given use.
How we made this: we read each vendor's own docs, help center, changelog, GitHub or press release on 6 October 2026, and link the page each row comes from. We did not sign up or connect to any of them. Some help centers blocked our reader, so a few details rest on their search snippets; those rows say so. Community-built servers are left out of the table. Artbucket is ours, and is listed last. Vendors ship fast: if a row is out of date, tell us and we will fix it and the date.
What an MCP server gives you
The Model Context Protocol lets an agent (Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot, Cursor) call a product's tools directly: search the library, read a file's metadata, upload, fetch the brand guidelines. Without one, an agent can only work with what you paste into it. The questions that matter are what it can read, whether it can write, and who gets it.
DAM platforms
| Platform | Official MCP | Since | Read / write | Who gets it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frontify | Yes, beta | April 2026 | Read and write (10 packs, 52 tools) | On request, free for now | Help center |
| Bynder | Yes | September 2026 | Read (12 tools) | Any DAM portal; guideline tools need the CX User Community package | API docs |
| Brandfolder | Not found | API docs | |||
| Canto | Product Hub (PIM add-on) only, not the DAM | September 2026 | Read and write | Product Hub add-on | Support (snippet) |
| Acquia DAM | Yes | July 2026 | Read at launch; its docs also list write tools | With the REST API feature | Docs |
| Aprimo | Yes | May 2026 | Read and write | AI Elite license | Developer docs |
| Adobe AEM Assets | Yes | January 2026 | Read and write, or read-only | AEM as a Cloud Service | Experience League |
| Sitecore | Yes, for SitecoreAI; Content Hub not named | November 2025 | Read and write | Not stated | Docs |
| Cloudinary | Yes | June 2025 | Read and write | All plans; some features paid | Docs |
| Box | Yes | August 2025 | Read and write; writes switched on by an admin | Box's own pages disagree | Developer guide |
| Orange Logic | Yes | 2026 ("Rome" release) | Read (search) | Users with the SearchAPI permission | Developer docs |
| Air | Yes | March 2026 | Read and write (21 tools) | Remote server on Business and Enterprise | Help center |
| Pics.io | Yes | September 2026 | Read (4 tools) | Not stated | GitHub |
| Kontainer | Yes | February 2026 | Read and write, with the user's rights | Premium+ add-on | Help desk |
| Masset | Yes | March 2026 | Read and write (35 tools) | Standard and Enterprise | Product page |
| Pimcore | Yes, experimental | December 2025 | Read (Data Hub); the Agent bundle in beta also writes | Data Hub Simple REST is an Enterprise module | Docs |
| Dash | Not found | Integrations | |||
| Lytho | Not found | Integrations | |||
| MediaValet | Not found | API docs | |||
| Filecamp | Not found | Features | |||
| ResourceSpace | Not found (community plugins exist) | Plugins |
Brand guidelines and design platforms
| Platform | Official MCP | Since | Read / write | Who gets it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| zeroheight | Yes | August 2025 | Read | Full server not on Free or Starter; a link-based server on all plans (help center snippet) | Product page |
| Corebook | Yes, on its marketing pages; no technical docs found | 2026 | Not stated | Listed under advanced features on its pricing page | Home page |
| Brandpad | Not found | Home page | |||
| Brandfetch | Yes | 2026 | Read (7 tools) | Counts against the Brand API quota | Docs |
| Canva | Yes | June 2025 | Read and write (34 tools) | All accounts; brand kit tools on paid plans | Developer docs |
| Figma | Yes | June 2025 | Read; writing to the canvas in beta, remote only | Call limits by seat and plan | Developer docs |
| Artbucket (ours) | Yes | September 2026 | Read, suggest (reviewed by a person) or write, chosen per key | Every plan and every self-hosted install | Docs |
What stands out
It happened in a year
Cloudinary, Canva and Figma were early, in mid-2025. Almost every DAM followed in 2026: Frontify in April, Aprimo in May, Acquia in July, Bynder and Pics.io in September. A list like this one written a year ago would have been nearly empty, and some vendor pages saying "X has no MCP" are already wrong.
Search is the common ground; writing is not
Every server we found can search. About half can write, and several of those put writes behind an admin switch or a higher tier. Bynder, Orange Logic, Pics.io and Brandfetch are read-only today.
Brand guidelines over MCP are still rare
Frontify, Bynder (with its guidelines package), zeroheight, Corebook, Canva (brand kits), Sitecore (brand kits) and Brandfetch expose some form of brand guidance to an agent. Most DAMs expose files and metadata only.
Nobody's agent can ask "may I use this?"
Several servers return rights metadata: Acquia includes security and expiry details, Orange Logic returns a rights summary with each result, Frontify says agents can check copyright and license status, and Adobe sells a separate brand governance server. None we found documents a tool that takes a use (a channel, a country, a date) and answers yes or no, with what to use instead. That is the gap Artbucket's check_use fills, and it is why we built it.
Questions
Does "official" matter if a community server exists?
Often, yes. A vendor's own server signs in as you with OAuth and keeps your permissions. Many community servers, and automation platforms that wrap a vendor's API, run on a shared API key with whatever rights that key has.
Can I connect an MCP server to Claude or ChatGPT?
Most of the remote servers above work as custom connectors in Claude and ChatGPT, and in Copilot Studio and Cursor. Check each vendor's docs for the clients it supports.
How often is this list updated?
We will check it again each month, and change the date above when we do.